Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Recording Helix to DAW in Stereo

TheDarkKnight1

Hey Helix family,

Please don't flame me!!!!! I am very new to this! I need to record bass tracks and I want to use my helix. I will be going USB to PC into my Sonar software. My presets are all in stereo because I have special effects I need in there but I am not sure how that translates to recording on a DAW. Do I need to do this the very very old fashioned way and record two tracks, left and right or will the DAW pick up that the track I am recording is a Stereo track? Please help me out here, the engineer I usually work with is unavailable for at least a month and I need to get this done yesterday. What settings should I have set up on the Helix and conversely on the DAW? The Line 6 community is among the highest rated on the net so I am hoping I can get some assistance. 

• Insert a Stereo audio track in SONAR
  • On that track, enable the two Helix inputs that will be used.... (eg: choose the stereo USB inputs)
  • The single track will record both the LEFT and RIGHT so they can be controlled on a single strip. 
  • If you add any plugins, make sure they are the STEREO version or the track will collapse to mono. 
  • If you send the track to a BUS... make sure it is a stereo bus, not mono. 

I prefer to capture left and right on separate tracks, but that's just my preference. On a stereo track the PAN becomes a balance (level only) between the left and right, while a mono PAN precisely positions the track in the mix. I don't often want hard left/right... I like to soften those a little (eg: 9:00 & 3:00 or 10:00 and 2:00)

59 minutes ago, codamedia said: