Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Using Helix 4CM with a Mesa Mini rectifier

WildNiteRecords

Hi guys, 
I am new to helix, Recently tried FRFR and wasn't sold on the sound for what Im doing.
I want to use 4cm to my Mesa Boogie rectifier and I have hooked it all up.
I set my commands up to change the channels of the amp VIA ext amp.
I am experiencing tone suck which I can't get to the bottom of... The amp sounds cleanish on the dirty channel
And also if I put FX after the loop (In screenshot pictured) the effects don't work at all? they work before the input signal but not after nothing at all.
My Mesa has a serial loop could this be causing this? It only has a switch that says bypass or FX loop
My global settings are (guitar pad) off (1/4 outputs - Line) (Instrument - Send return 1) and (Instrument - Send return 2)

Basically all I want to do is be able to run effect before and after the amp... And use snapshots to make the helix change my amp channels between them

Sorry if I sound silly there is probably a simple fix but Im really wanting to get it all up and running

Screen Shot 2020-01-22 at 6.55.49 pm.png

Check your wiring. 4cm:

Guitar>Helix Input>Effects>FX Loop 1 Block>Helix Send 1>Amp Input>Amp FX Loop Send>Helix Return 1>Effects>Helix Left/Mono Out>Amp FX Loop Return

Make sure you're using the correct FX Loop Block for the Send/Return pair that you're using. 

Try setting Send/Return 1 to LINE. Send/Return 2 shouldn't even be involved. 

I've since sorted some of the issues... I now have a phasing issue on the amp but everything else works great.
My mix is on 100% on the fx loop block

My 4cm is guitar into helix, - 1/4 output to Amps return,-  Amp input into send 1 - and return 1 to amp fx loop send

I have no modulation effects. The snapshots change my amp channels fine its just the weird phaser sound especially in the dirty channel

Thank you for your reply!