Jump to content
arkieboy

Lock down Helix settings for live performance

Recommended Posts

Saturday morning at the beginning of the Matinee performance of the Oxford Gang show, I hit the first chord of what should have been the (British) national anthem and I was greeted - it turned out - by the Cartographer model at full tilt rather than the expected Essex 30 set for a ringing clean.  There's not much room in the orchestra loft for this gig so one of the woodwind players must have knocked a dial as they passed.

 

Is it possible to lock down your Helix so it becomes a preset machine without the pressing of some unlikely-to-be-pressed-randomly combination of buttons?

 

(We all had a bit of a laugh about it afterwards.  Most of the band thought I was about to do a Brian May ...)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well you will definitely check your preset before you start your next show!

It's not an easy accident to have.

If you are using a batch of presets and say snapshots, generally the worst that happens is you've accidentally tapped one of the up/down switches and the presets will be flashing.

You need to make 2 stumbles to actually select the wrong preset - and it's clearly labeled when you do.

I'm always checking.

Not an answer unfortunately, but if you had pedals it would tell you less.

A simple reselect of the preset is all you need to make a habit of. Don't assume anything!

I suspect you will be doing that anyhow now!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use 8 snapshots in a preset and the amp model had changed in the preset.  But yes, I can't figure out what happened either!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Technically speaking your presets are always locked down unless someone presses the 'Save' button.  All you have to do is select a different preset, then select your original preset and you're back to way that preset was when saved.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, DunedinDragon said:

Technically speaking your presets are always locked down unless someone presses the 'Save' button.  All you have to do is select a different preset, then select your original preset and you're back to way that preset was when saved.

This. 
 

reload your preset before playing. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...