Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Solo advice HELP!

sonospete

Hi Guys

I'm a Helix LT beginner and I love it. However, I'm having difficulty getting a decent solo tone when I boost the volume for the solo itself. I am happy with it at lower volumes but as soon as I increase/boost the volume it looses that syrupy/fluid feel and tone. It seems to clean up a lot and become too sterile. Hope that makes sense ?

Anyway , wondering if you can please point me in the right direction with some ideas I might try. I run it into a stagesource L2t. which I set at 12 o'clock and I set the Helix master at around 12 also. I play a HSS strat and solo on the Seymour Duncan JP HB.   Many thanks in advance and apologies if I haven't provided enough info.

Instead of using whatever boost method you're using (you didn't specify), use the Output Block Level instead. Set the MIN value to, say, -5db (so as to not overdrive the playback device on boost), and the MAX at 0db. Turn up the Helix master (BIG KNOB) to compensate the -5db non-boosted level.

• Like 2

19 minutes ago, rd2rk said:

Instead of using whatever boost method you're using (you didn't specify), use the Output Block Level instead. Set the MIN value to, say, -5db (so as to not overdrive the playback device on boost), and the MAX at 0db. Turn up the Helix master (BIG KNOB) to compensate the -5db non-boosted level.

This is my method.  I design all my presets to be -4db at the Output Block.  Then when creating my lead tone from my rhythm tone I add whatever blocks necessary.  Usually for me that means adding the TS808 (boosts mids, but also gives me a looser feel on the 'feel' of playing), adding a Delay block.