Jump to content

Updating from helix floor 2.92 to 3.11 question..


Bushman2
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hey All....
I'm in the middle of the update to 3.11, and everything is fine I think.
I backed up the current (2.92) with the old Helix Edit, then updated Helix Edit from the lower right corner "check for updates" link.
The update process made another backup (1), so now I'm double backed up. Sheesh!
Then the update went smoothly but saw this on the Line 6 Update Page "We STRONGLY recommend performing a factory reset AFTER UPDATING your Helix/HX firmware to 3.11 and THEN RESTORING YOUR BACKUP."
 

So...
Factory Reset NOW, then restore my old 2.92 backup? That sounds crazy.
Can anyone tell me if I should restore my old 2.92 backup now or what?
Cornfuzed......

Link to comment
Share on other sites

8 hours ago, Bushman2 said:

Hey All....
I'm in the middle of the update to 3.11, and everything is fine I think.
I backed up the current (2.92) with the old Helix Edit, then updated Helix Edit from the lower right corner "check for updates" link.
The update process made another backup (1), so now I'm double backed up. Sheesh!
Then the update went smoothly but saw this on the Line 6 Update Page "We STRONGLY recommend performing a factory reset AFTER UPDATING your Helix/HX firmware to 3.11 and THEN RESTORING YOUR BACKUP."
 

So...
Factory Reset NOW, then restore my old 2.92 backup? That sounds crazy.
Can anyone tell me if I should restore my old 2.92 backup now or what?
Cornfuzed......

 

Personally I would probably use the backup that HX Edit made during the editor and firmware upgrade(most recent), but yes, i do the factory reset and then restore my globals and setlists after an upgrade per the release instructions.  Supposedly you can get by with just restoring the globals but I tend to take Line6 at its word regarding the recommended procedure.

  • Upvote 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

So long as the update to 3.11 concludes without incident and both your copy of HX Edit and your Helix Device are at 3.11, then YES; do the Factory Reset.

 

After the Factory Reset completes without incident, you are then free to Restore anything you wish from your Backups. If you Restore any backed up Presets, then perform a Rebuild Power up sequence on with your device to assure that it properly converts any of your backed up Presets to the latest 3.11 firmware compliant level. See HelixHelp.com for the power on button sequence for your device to rebuild any of your Restored Presets. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...