Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Pod X3 Output Options

markwit229

I have been playing through the POD X3 via a nice set of Bose noise-cancelling headphones for a long while now as I've lived in apartments for the last few years.  That will no longer be an issue soon and I was hoping somebody could provide some advice on output alternatives (i.e., speakers, amps, etc.).  I feel like this topic has been covered to death, except that I couldn't find any great posts or advice that seemed to answer my exact question.  I'm also relatively new to the world of amplification so please excuse my lack of understanding.

I play solely as a hobby, not in a band and not live.  My typical day of playing would involve a lot of backing tracks at home.  I play a couple Strats and a nice PRS.  As far as music, I'm a huge David Gilmour fan, but I would be playing anything from Clapton to the Chili Peppers.

I previously played a POD 2.0 through a low-end (literally bottom end) Marshall half stack.  I was always really disappointed with the tone, especially compared to how great the POD sounded through a nice set of headphones.  I knew a guy a while ago who played the original POD through a PA system and I was astonished at how great it sounded (he turned me onto the POD in the first place).

So, basically, I am looking to replicate as much as possible how great the POD sounds through a pair of headphones.  That probably isn't very descriptive, but I believe (just a guess) that the headphones are not processing the sound as much as other output alternatives would.  I recall reading the instructions with the Marshall half stack on how best to set it up with the POD and I felt like I was hearing the POD tones very much modified when they were coming through the amp.  Granted, the Marshall was a terrible, terrible piece of equipment.