Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Earvana installed this weekend - my experience

After being a self taught guitar player now for about 5 years, I have been frustrated over and over again by tuning issues on every guitar I played specifically on the 3rd string A near the nut. Eventually I realized that it wasn't bad guitars, out of whack truss rods, or poorly intonated guitars. It was the nature of simple mathematics as applied to guitar necks. I also have had issues with the nut on my JTV69. It was cut too low on the first string (high E) and I could never get rid of the fret buzz. So this weekend I installed an Earvana nut. I am astounded, amazed, and shocked at the improvement!

It was easy to install and needed virtually no adjustments once the guitar was strung and intonated properly. Tuning is GREAT now on those first few frets and the new nut raised the string to the perfect level with a simple straightening of the truss rod. Wow! Why did I wait this long?

• Upvote 1

I had the same experience on my Variax 500 when I first got it many years ago.  It really makes a difference if you play near the nut.  I am not sure why more guitars do not have this compensation.  There is no down side to it that I can see.  I have Earvana nuts on several of my guitars.  I have not put one on my JTV69S yet.  The nut it came with is set up perfectly - not to high not too low.  In my experience, most guitars ship with the action too high.  The Earvana makes a bigger difference when the action and string height at the nut is too high because you bend the strings sharp when you play near the nut. 

What size Earvana nut did you use on your 69?  The neck is a bit narrower than my 500.