Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

New to modelers. Just got an HX Stomp. Also new, an SDE3000EVH delay. Have tube (dry) amp, and 2 frfr cabs. Goal is W/D/W. This even possible w/ stomp??

n22samm

Hey all, 

Apologies, as I'm a total newb to modelers, and have been an analog, tube amp, etc (you know the spel) guy my entire life. 

But, I wanted to try something different, and also wanted something that wasn't a million pedals. With a new amp head being build for me now, and 2 frfr cabs, I was hoping to have a relatively simple w/d/w setup, especially considering the SDE3000EVH basically makes W/D/W routing an absolute breeze. 

... but now I'm wondering if I made a mistake buying the HX Stomp. It looked killer for the deal, and I saw something quick that made it seem like w/d/w was no problem. But... with all this gear arriving later today, I'm researching more and just making myself more and more confused. 

Now, I'm starting to wonder if I could instead just use the Stomp for stereo wet effects only (not ideal), and route it separate from everything somehow (since the frfr cabs have 2 inputs). I also *think* I could do everything where the Stomp is after the SDE, but... I don't exactly want this *after* a delay. 

Could I maybe somehow use the Stomps fx loop to do this? Or should I cut losses and return the Stomp? 

Ideally, I just wanted to run guitar into 2 (dry) pedals, then into the SDE3000 input. Then the SDE3000 gets routed through the (dry) amps fx loop, and then the SDE3000 has L/R outputs to run into the left and right amps (or, in my case, the fr cabs), and a direct output that bypasses the pedal (so I'd just get the direct line of guitar > amp, or the couple dry pedals I throw in between it).