Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Muddy guitars need help!

Ok so I am new to home recording and just thought it was time to give it a shot. I'm running audacity for my DAW and a pod xt for my guitars. I cant quite seem to find the clarity I'm looking for they just seem to be a little too muddy. I have attempted to tweak some effects and have found a fairly decent sound but not quite the quality I'm looking for.Dual tracked lead, removing as much gain as possible without losing my tone, running a Low/High pass filters at 7500/250 compressed with a 7:1, .15s attack and .8s release and haven't had much luck tweaking the EQ. Honestly it sounds better without the EQ. I have multiple versions and recently got the best sound after changing my strings and battery. I play metalcore I guess but plan on switching it up with some djenty stuff when I order my 7 string. I also have a scarlett 2i2 preamp that I am going to be ordering as well here soon. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated trying to get demo quality at least but would love to get it sounding even better. I will be able to email you a copy, as it's too large to upload, of the best I've been able to come up with so far if you'd be willing to help me out! Thanks a bunch!

'Muddy' typically refers to frequencies in the 250-400Hz range.  Depending on the dB attenuation on your high pass EQ, you may be cutting out too much low end with your current EQ and leaving too much mud.   Low E on a guitar is around 85Hz.

The fact that you got better sound after changing strings and (active pickup) battery indicates that part of your sound issue could be the guitar itself.