Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Help getting started with MIDI

feffa86

I have a Helix rack and a Kemper rack hooked up to the Helix' FX loop. I have no prior experience with using MIDI, other than using a MIDI keyboard with a DAW years back. But everything was setup in such a way that I just plugged it in and played.

So I want to use the Helix to control certain features of the Kemper. I want to be able to use the stomps on the Helix Controller to maybe scroll through rigs on the kemper. I want to see if I can set them up to turn off the "EFFECTS" or "STOMPS" section on the kemper, and possibly to "disable" the kemper so the signal goes through clean. I don't want guides on how to do this, I just want to learn to use MIDI so I can work these things out myself. I've read a little bit in the Helix/Kemper threads, and Helix as a MIDI controller threads, and most of everything goes over my head. I don't know about PC#s and CC#s and MIDI channels and what any of this is. So coming from that I'm asking if anyone can point me in a direction as far as learning MIDI goes. Anyone have a good guide/video/whatever that got you started?

Google "MIDI Basics". Here's one result:

http://tweakheadz.com/how-to-get-started-with-midi-and-the-difference-between-midi-and-audio-is-explained-along-with-many-other-core-concepts-for-building-a-home-recording-studio/

Could be TMI there. Here's the basic basics:

Channels

There are 16 MIDI channels. Channels allow you to send messages to specific devices in a MIDI setup. For instance, you could have your KPA "listening" on channel 1, a synth on channel 2 and another synth on channel 3. By using "Instant Commands" in the Helix Command Center, you could select a different preset (voice) on each by assigning different PC (Program Change) or CC (Continuous Controller) messages as needed. Channel 1=PC#032;Channel 2 = PC#079; Channel 3 = PC#002; etc.

Program Change