Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Spider Valve 112 MkI Logic Board repair/replacement inquiry

yustech

Hello nice people of this forum, I'me very very new here.

I'm here to perhaps benefits some help and pointers about one Spider Valve 112 that had just came for repairs. The story went like this. The owner had sent the unit to the authorized service center here in Malaysia which is Yamaha Malaysia. He was told by the technician that the logic board for this particular model is not available for replacement.  Sorry no repairs.

He took it back and sent it to me. Honestly  I'm no expert of such kind of 22nd century technology so I gave no promise but to check out the available parts plus what the words in forum about this amp. From what I could understood there's one or two out there with this same problem. This amp seems to only display 8 block of rectangle. I also had downloaded the schematic,traced and check the supply voltages at the regulators on the logic PCB but all seems to okay. I'm not well versed about what does what or control what on the logic board but what I could generally understood are most if not all of the brain part of this amp is coming from the DSP Chip (DSPB56362AG120). At least the power amp(return) side is good with use with any MultiFX.

Has anyone tried replacing the DSP chip resulting a positive success? Is it possible to order the whole logic board directly from Line 6? Which I think is a better solution.

I had attempt to get the support ticket from Line 6 but given the amp is not registered under me I left the en devour half way. Let me know if this post is inappropriate here so I may delete it.

Please help Mr. Line 6 and Line 6 experts.

Thank you 

yus

IMG_20180626_194856.jpg

IMG_20180626_195006.jpg

IMG_20180626_195409.jpg

IMG_20180626_200025.jpg

IMG_20180626_201045.jpg

My lab mate here at Line 6 has a set for dealing with black box display.