Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Input level question

captainc

Hello, 

I'm new to the Pod Go so apologies if this has been covered... I did a search and couldn't find anything .  I am dialing in tones and finding my way around the unit pretty easily.  The only thing I'm struggling with is what seems like clipping on the input side of things.  Its not amp gain but more like a digital crackle.  I have the pad engaged and it goes away if I lower the pickup volume but on some models I have to back the volume way down.  My pickup height is fine.  is there another gain input gain stage I'm missing? the Axe212 had in input knob you can use to trim down the input gain.  

thank you 

1 hour ago, captainc said:

thanks for the reply.

I've been using the Echo Platter model.  Haven't tried the others yet.  

I will try lowering my pickups a bit I suppose.  Just feel like I already have them fairly Low. 

Well you aren't clipping the input if you aren't hearing clipping on every preset or with every amp model. It's not really possible to digitally clip within the signal path itself, but you can overload certain blocks. You could also be clipping the output converters or whatever you're plugged into. This is probably more likely than clipping the input.

Ok so I've been doing better with this.  Really trying to watch my levels but I'm still pulling my hair out a bit.  I've added a google drive link below with both the Patch with 4 snapshots as well as a quick audio sample to demonstrate what I'm experiencing.   I love this unit and it sounds fantastic on Cleans as well as higher gain stuff... its just some of the lower gain breakup tones I'm struggling with but I'm determined to figure this out. 

I appreciate any help especially for taking the time to download and look/listen to my files.