Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Probably A Dumb Question

LuciusThorne

I've been using the Helix Floor since 2017, and it has been an incredible tool for achieving fantastic tones. However, I've encountered a new problem that I've never experienced or considered before. I understand that the answer may likely be disappointing, but I thought I'd ask anyway to confirm or explore potential workarounds.

A few months ago, I purchased a JTV69 Variax guitar, which has proven to be more useful than I initially anticipated. I'm currently experimenting with a different approach, but I've hit a roadblock. I typically run my Helix through my amplifier using the 4CM (Four Cable Method). What I'm attempting to do is simultaneously utilize both the magnetic pickups and the Variax models to create unique and interesting guitar tones. I'm using the specialized cable (XLR on the outside with CAT5 on the inside). I've set Path 1 input to Variax Magnetics and Path 2 input to Variax. Additionally, I've configured the Variax models to change on a per snapshot basis. Initially, I used the output volume controls on each path to balance the two sources, but I found them less effective on a per snapshot basis. Instead, I included a Volume block at the end of each path, which has yielded better results. The models do appear to change with the snapshots, and I've successfully prevented the model from changing when using the pickup selector to switch the magnetics. So far, so good.

Now, onto the problem: