Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

6 POD X3/HD500x/Line 6 Pro

marcofurtado

Hi guys

I'm new to the site and I've been playing guitar for about 2 years.

I own a humble setup (Epiphone Les Paul 100 and a HT5-R amp) and I'm now exploring the realm of pedals and multi effect pods.

I've been reading about the line 6 POD X3, the HD500x and Line 6 Pro and it will be cool if you could get some feedback from the community about which one of those 3 would suit me the best.

To be honest I don't know if they're too good just for home use because I just play guitar in my house to my self or with a couple of friends.... That's why I'm looking for something to plug into my amp or to my pc to enhance my experience and also to explore the recording side of the pods.

Thanks for the feedback!

Cheers! 

If you have the $ the HD series is great for recording, is still supported and can be bought new (meaning warranty). I still play and use the XT/X3 series too but the HD expansion packs let my favorite X3 amps return (in the HD series) so the XT/X3 stuff is not used as much (jamming and such mainly now). 

BUT if you are new to MFX and editing them, the XT/X3s are IMO easier to use. The HD does have a longer yet more rewarding curve. :)

Please note: None of my opinions are taking into consideration Win10 which people are having some issues with.

Hope that helps.

Bill

So I'm going into the HD series! Is there a big difference in terms of sound between the HD500x and the HD pro X?

No difference at all they use the same sound engine in both.

Or the almost 200$ difference in price is because of the form factor and I/O options?

Yes.

Thanks for the feedback!

One other thing regarding the HD pods. I read somewhere that if I ran the HD500x in front of the amp it would be advised to disable the amp modeling.