Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Recommendations and suggestions?

I am working with a 9-piece band who are looking at moving to a wireless system for their 5 vocalists. They're looking at all available products but I want to make sure they have a good understanding of the Line 6 option. Challenge for me is ..... I am a complete newbie with wireless audio. I am hoping to get some advice, guidance and recommendations from this fine community.

I have done some research and am leaning towards the XD-V55 system with the handheld mics. I would opt for the rackmount systems and also go with the XD-AD8 Antenna Distribution System.  I would house it all in a standard 4U (I think?) rackmount carrying case for security and ease of transport/setup.

Here are some basic questions as a starting point.

- do you think the XD-V55 is a good choice or would you recommend, say, the XD-V35 (non rack mountable)?

- is the rackmount route advisable? Do I need the XD-AD8 or is it feasible to have 5 desktop XD-V55/35 systems

- if I go with the XD-V55 desktop systems, what about ergonomics and table space? Do they stack? Do the 5 sets of rabbit ears become a problem?

- I will be connecting these systems to my StageScape M20d mixer and using the iPAD remote app. This involves a local Wi-Fi connection at the mixer. Will I need to locate the vocal wireless system some distance away from the mixer to avoid RF interference?

Any other important considerations I'm missing?

Any and all comments are welcome.

Thanks!

I would always suggest going for rackmountable option - it keeps things neat & tidy and makes for a much quicker and easier setup.

Personally, I would go with remote antennae and the AD8 as that's what I use - it gets good signal to all the receivers (no need to daisy chain) and lets you site the antennae where they need to be rather than them being stuck at the rack.