Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Pod HD500X Distortion problems

Dufrense

Hello,

Long post below :)

I have been using the 500x for a couple of months now. Love it!

However I have a problem when using distortion. Bear with me as I am not the best at explaining these things :)

I discovered that I have big problems creating "clean" distorted sounds. What I mean with clean is that the distortion itself is quite high, but the tone is clean and enjoyable.

My problem is that whenever I use distortion effect at a bit of volume I get "underlying" distrubances to the tone.This makes the tone seem off and slightly out of key/unenjoyable.It´s like the signal cuts out ramdomly. Odd thing it doesn´t occur all over the fretboard, it seems to be prone to certain frequences. High pitch tones are way cleaner than low pitch tones. Problem also intencifies with string bending.

Usually I use my Les Paul with Alnico 2 PRO pickups.Yesterday I decided to take action to solve this annoying tone artifact.

First off all, usually I play through headphones as I practice late at night when wife/kids are sleeping. I tested another pair of headphones than usual, problem still persisted totally unchanged. So I connected the rig to my Bugera amp to see if this was a headphone only issue. Same problem occured through amp, however slightly harder to detect as I could not play at a very high volume, but it was clearly there. 

So naturally I suspected that the problem is within the guitar. Opened up the back to inspect all soldering points. No problem there. then I hightened the strings (quite alot) to 100% eliminate even the slightest fretbuzzing. No effect at all. Inspected the nut and discovered that some strings were a little to tight in the slots. Pulled out my nutfiles and widened them a bit. No effect.