Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Never Owned a MultiFX unit before

Skhar

Hey guys, I've never owned a modelling unit before, but will be getting the pod go this Friday and I'm excited.

Now because I have zero experience with this stuff and the only amp I've ever owned is a Katana I am a little lost. I've watched the quick start videos and am currently reading through the manual and they are helping a lot. I'm sure I'm just going to have to sit with the Pod and play around with it to get the best out of it.

But I was hoping you guys could give me little pieces of advice on literally ANYTHING for the world of modelling amps. Assume I have 0 knowledge (Just learned what FRFR speakers are, still confused about what IR is etc.) haha.

Thanks

If you have previously been playing and listening to your guitar through a traditional guitar amp you should expect to hear a difference. You are used to listening to an amp in the room with you. A modeller like the POD Go is designed to create the sound in a recording or control room  - from placing a microphone in front of an amp that sits in a different room, and listening to the mic’d sound through PA speakers or studio monitors.

Like you say you should just start learning and playing. You will be able to ask more specific questions to improve your skills and understanding as you proceed through the learning curve (and there will be one!).