Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

M20d, POD HD500X, Variax, Avid Rack Eleven, Pro Tools

First and foremost, this is a total newbie question. I have an idea of how I can approach this, but I wanted some input from you experienced folks.

I have a bunch of hardware I've gathered over the past 3-5 years trying to learn guitar and have my son play as well. Unfortunately for me, I haven't had the time to practice, and he's already playing stage shows at 11 years old. In any event, I'm curious to know how to properly setup my rig to get the most out of it, and to be as dynamic of an environment as possible for him to play/record/practice/jam.

Here's my list of gear in somewhat order from output speakers in towards computer/instruments. What I'm really asking I guess is what's the best way to wire this up... mostly for recording on the computer, but also to not overlap the HD500x effects with the Eleven Rack, or have a combination of both, wet and dry mixes. (Bear with me... I understand a lot of the terminology, but not the technical connections between the devices.) Thanks for ANY help someone could provide.

Equipment:

Speaker sets:

LIVE Stage Speakers:

Speakers: Line 6 - l3m pair

Amp/Mixer: Line 6 - M20d Stagescape (USB to computer)

DESK Studio Speakers

Speakers: Samson - Resolv65

Amp: Bryson 20

Interface: M-Audio Firewire 410 (Firewire to computer)

Interfaces:

Avid - Eleven Rack (USB to computer)

Line 6 - HD500x (USB to computer)

Instruments:

Line 6 - Variax JTV-59 Guitar (Variax output to HD500x)

Acoustic Electric - Line output

Acoustic - Mic output

2 MIDI Keyboards

Computer:

Windows 10 w/ ProTools 11

Thanks,

Damon

Your kid's lucky to have a father who's accumulated this much gear for him to use!

Whether its for at-home practice or recording, you won't be using all the gear at one time.