Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

IR's

talonmm

I am new to the concept of IR's having just purchased the Helix this weekend.  I see a custom tone I would like to download and there is at least one ir I will need.  The tone is called. BB VH Eruption. 

Here is the description:  Eruption

Eddie Van Halen humbucker.png billbassler Preset created using Helix firmware 1.12. IR used is RedWire & FREE. http://www.redwirez.com/free1960g12m25s.jsp. Downloaded IR location: Free-Marshall1960A-G12Ms\Red Wire Impulses\BIGBox\48 KHz-24bit\Marshall1960A-G12Ms\Shure SM57Marshall1960A-G12Ms-SM57-Cap-2in. The tone is based on using a Charvel EVH Art series Strat. Helix through a Line 6 StageSource L2m monitor. To my ear this patch could also be used for Ain't Talkin 'Bout Love if the MXR flanger is added.

My questions are:  is there one IR I need or more?  One looks like a 1960 marshall and then there's mention above of an sm57.  So is there more than one IR needed?  Also, when I went to the site, it looks like the tone if free, but there are others that are not free.  Will I be able to get the proper sound with the free IR?  Last the zip file contains a whole bunch of files.  Does the Helix want me to extract the files before I try to import the IR or IR's or will the Helix handle that?

Thanks!

I am new to the concept of IR's having just purchased the Helix this weekend. I see a custom tone I would like to download and there is at least one ir I will need. The tone is called. BB VH Eruption.