Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

HX Stomp First Impression (Grumpy Old Sound Guy Perspective)

deltonfoster

Second post here on the forums, I played my first gig with just the HX stomp, wow! Well, I did have my API Tranzformer EQ /comp and my trusty Shure GLX-D16 wireless. 

I am a sound engineer for a living: touring, local, corporate, etc. Mixed a lot of shows with Line 6 gear that sounded less than great, PODs and other things that I'm not sure of the name... probably more to do with user error than anything I guess, but I have to say that all my past experiences with Line 6 products have been bad! I guess now I see what all the fuss was about! They had to drag me kicking and screaming into the digital world in terms of sound, and now guitar! I wanted to buy a Kemper, mixed a lot of shows with those over the years, and they always sounded great, I just didn't want to spend that much. I work at a church on Sundays and the guitar player came in using the HX stomp, so I had a chance to place it in the mix. That's usually where I have issues, a good amp will just sit right, after he dialed in the HX it sounded great! I didn't have any experience with the  Helix line so I assumed Line 6 / yikes.  

My band is playing more covers now and mixing in our original material, so I needed something to switch up quickly - all the normal shenanigans that happen in a cover band I guess. I would normally play either my Friedman Dirty Shirley Mini, Morgan Abbey C, or Tone King Gremlin depending on how I was feeling. I was able to create patches that sound great with very convincing recreations of my various amp setups, and of course, beyond - the flexibility is just insane! 

Well done Line 6!

• Like 3
  • Upvote 2