Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Recording a Dry DI Track next to an effected sound

jshyer

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Helix and trying to figure out how to execute the below from page 54 of the user manual.  Simply put, it's recording a Dry DI track into Ableton (recording software) while getting to hear myself with an amp/cab/effected sound.  The below are the instructions but it's not working for me.  My set up is basic: Helix into my computer via USB (which is working as my "sound card"), two speakers on my computer which the Helix runs cables into, Guitar into Helix via "Guitar in". Can someone send a diagram of a simple execution of this and explain any nuance a beginner like me should know?  

For this example, we'll record guitar into two DAW tracks simultaneously, with one capturing the Helix-processed tone and the other the unprocessed DI guitar.

1. In the Helix Global Settings>Ins/Outs>Page 3 screen, set Re-amp Src (USB 7) to "Guitar" (as shown above).

2. Dial in your desired Helix tone, while keeping the Helix Input and Output blocks both set to the default "Multi" setting.

3. Create two new audio tracks in your DAW software project: Create one mono track to record the dry DI guitar, and set the track's input to Helix USB 7. Create one stereo track to record your full, stereo Helix-processed tone and set the track's input to Helix USB 1/2. GUITAR IN USB DRY DI GUITAR PROCESSED GUITAR TRACK 1 (Dry DI Guitar) TRACK 2 (Processed Guitar) 16B Dream Rig Duet Time Feedback [37%] Delay Harmony Delay Key Scale Mix Level 1/8 D Minor 40% 0.0 dB 55

4. Set both tracks' outputs, as well as the DAW Master output, to Helix USB 1/2 to allow all tracks to play back through Helix. NOTE: Setting the stereo track's output to Helix USB 1/2 allows you to hear your Helix-processed tone via the Helix hardware monitoring while recording. For this configuration, disable software monitoring on all DAW tracks.