Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

HX Stomp direct to PA (live)

danowen46

Looking for some advice please, I'm very new to all this (ampless) so looking to learn and confirm what I have read is correct.

I have a HX Stomp, and would like to use it for live gigs without having to use a guitar amp, so plugging it direct into the PA. From what I have read, the best way to do this is via a Line Isolator (or DI, but better a LI). I have been looking at the Walrus Audio Canvas Mono as it would fit on my board nicely and I have no need for stereo.

Am I correct in saying I can plug the L/Mono output of the HX Stomp into the Input of the Canvas using a regular guitar cable, then plugging an XLR from the out on the Canvas straight into the PA mixing desk?

And if, for example, a venue didn't have any monitors (happens to us sometimes), I could bring my own and plug into it from the Canvas' thru jack so I can hear myself on stage? What type of monitor should I be getting for this? Is there any specific type?
Thanks in advance for any help

You do not need a DI for the HXS. The main outputs are balanced, so at most you might need a pair of 1/4" TRS to Female XLR cables. Cable is better than an adapter (IMO) as it will place less strain on the HXS output jacks and you'll need XLR cables anyway to get to the stage box and monitor.

Since you're running in MONO you can just take the LEFT Out to FOH and the RIGHT out to a powered Stage Monitor.

Your choice in powered stage monitors is pretty much dependent on your budget, from $2-300 Alto/Behringer to $7-1000 Yamaha/EV/JBL/QSC. The more expensive varieties have built-in DSP for tone-shaping and use-case - floor, pole, vocal, music, instrument etc. 

• Upvote 2

On 7/22/2022 at 10:36 AM, danowen46 said:

plugging it direct into the PA

On 7/22/2022 at 5:14 PM, rd2rk said:

1/4" TRS to Female XLR cables

1/4" TRS to male XLR.