Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Sound Differences - DT50 vs PODHD500X

TBone55

Hi All, I'm a newbie when it comes to using my PODHD500X with the DT50 212 I recently purchased so please excuse my ignorance on this subject. I noticed that there was a notable sound/tone difference between a preset in my POD using the full amp model when not connected to my DT50 and the amp pre-version of the same model when connected to my DT50 through the L6 link. I checked out some of the existing threads regarding this issue as well as checking out the link to MEAMBOBBO, to see if I could find out what I might be doing wrong but still seem to have the same issue. The sound through the DT50 is not nearly as gritty, or as loud, as it is when I'm using just the POD and listening through the headphones. I'm using the HIWAY 100 amp model full preset with the pod alone and the HIWAY 100 pre model when linked to my DT50. I've got all of the pre-amp settings the same for each version so I was expecting to hear the same amount of 'dirt' and then setting the master vol on the DT50 to around 12:00. I've been working on getting this one particular preset to sound as good through the DT50 as it does through just the pod before moving on to my other presets so I can start to get an understanding of how things work together. If it makes it easier, the tone preset I have is for "Won't Get Fooled Again" by the The Who.

Thanks.

Hey Tiago, I think we're on our own here. As far as I know, you can either have the cab simulation on or off. You're obviously going to hear a different sound with the cab sim off depending on what cabinet you have. If you're using the cab sim for a 4x12 cab and feeding the signal into an actual 1x12 cabinet you're not going to get the exact same sound as the real 4x12 cab that's being emulated. I haven't experimented enough with this to make a decision whether to have the cab sim off or on yet.