Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Pod HD 500x in Musical Theatre situation.

stephenwguitar

Hi Folks,

My HD 500x has just landed, and I'm just starting the mammoth task of getting to grips with the beast. My previous setup was 4 stomp boxes (Distortion, chorus, tremolo, tuner) and a JD Wah Wah. My main guitar is a Japanese Fender Strat, and I have a Joe Pass Archtop for jazz stuff. Amp is Blackstar Club 40. I gig mainly in theatre orchestras, so I'm looking for clean, subtle sounds to 'blend' not overpower.

My FOH sound is often at the mercy of the sound engineer at the venue, but I'm hoping with the Increased I/O options I now have, things will be easier.

I just wondered if there were any other guitarists here who perform in similar situations? Any general advice for a complete newbie would also be appreciated!

Steve

You'll have it easy. First, you're right. Your sound is at the mercy of the sound guy. Plus, your monitoring will likely be subpar. But on the other hand, your audience isn't there to listen to you. You don't have to tweak the last 20% of your tone cuz no one cares (except maybe you). Just get something close and have fun with it. Expect it to be a trial/error situation. Bad tone on 1st night isn't going to kill the show, but learn what's missing and try something a little different for show #2. Also, learn to program the thing w/o a PC and Edit software. You may be called on to do something specific on the fly (during rehearsal usually - like invoke a heavy tremolo or something you weren't expecting. You will be expected to know how to use your gear.

• Upvote 1