Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Is the Pod HD Pro X right for me?

olisav

New posting in here so apologies if this is in the wrong place.

I'm looking into a new setup and my guitar instructor recommended the Pod HD Pro X to me. I've never used any effects units like this, and was initially looking to purchase a cab/head/pedal setup, but for everything I'm looking for it could be potentially done through the Pod.

I'm looking for something quite effects heavy, think Alcest, Bossk etc. style music, and was looking into delay and reverb pedals, particularly for my clean tones, is the Pod a good alternative or would I be better off with pedals?

Price wise I'd probably be paying less with the Pod, and has the added bonus of recording through my PC as well. As I said I've got no experience with this kind of unit and literally just had it recommended to me so am looking for some more information specific to my needs, any advice would be helpful!

*A quick Google of those bands leads me to say - sure, you can do that.

I don't know those bands. 

BUT... 

I bought a pod and replaced everything that went between me and the pa. 

No amps. No other fx.

I walk in, I put my pod on the floor, and I am ready to go. 

You, of course, are looking at the rack unit. So, you wouldn't necessarily put yours on the floor. Although, you should consider getting the foot controller for it, which would be on the floor. 

I can tell you - 

There are limits as to how many effects you can use at one time. You can have a maximum of 8 at one time, but you are also limited by DSP (similar to RAM on a pc). Amps, delays, and reverbs are heavy on DSP. It is possible that if you run a dual amp and then try to add 8 delays/reverbs/harmonizers that you will run out of DSP before you hit 8.

*Amps use DSP but do not count towards your 8 blocks.