Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Tone loss turning guitar volume down

Pahako

I am new to the pod go and have previously used  individual pedals. I use my volume knob a lot in my playing style and frequently play with it turned down some for my main sound, and crank it up if I need more for a solo. All my guitars either have a treble bleed or 50’s wiring so I don’t loose tone when I back off the volume knob. With the pod go I loose all the tone when I back of the volume knob. If I back off on the volume pedal I don’t loose the tone, but for me that is not nearly as efficient as using my volume knob. I am wondering if there is a “workaround “ for this or if that’s just the way it is with these pedals. Other than that it does everything I need it to do. Thanks

Three suggestions. First, ensure your noise Gate is switched off. Second, place a buffered pedal in front of Pod Go. A buffer will help retain signal strength and the top end. Any Boss pedal will be buffered ... even with the pedal switched off. Third, if you go wireless with a Line 6 G10 Relay the G10 will act the same as a buffered pedal. 

• 11 months later...

LINE 6 PodGo Treble Loss @ Guitar Input

The problem with the treble loss at the input jack is that Line 6 connected a 1000pF (.001uF) cap (C124) from tip to ground at the input jack. This combined with your pickup's impedance and the series resistance introduced to the signal when you turn down your guitar volume creates a filter that cuts off the treble at a frequency that drops as the impedance (resistance) is increased. So the more you turn the volume down the more treble is cut off.