Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Bergantino SuperPre and HX Stomp

Philbertus

HI - semi-noob here with what may be a common question - or maybe not...

I'm a bass player and until recently used my HXS as the core of my ampless rig, which I use 90% of the time. 

I recently acquired a Bergantino Super Pre (BSP) which I want to use as my primary ampless rig. But, I want to continue to use the FX patches I've built in my HXS. The BSP has an effects loop and I thought it would be straightforward to use that to link in the HXS, but I can't get it to work properly. I connected the BSP send to the HXS return and the HXS send to the BSP return. I made the BSP FX loop was enabled. I placed a send/return block before the effects in the HXS. I get some sound when I engage an effect, but it's quite quiet and I can't get it loud enough to be useable. Further, when I turn the effect off, I don't get any output at all - my bass goes away entirely. 

In my aged and slightly damaged brain, I envisioned being able to use the HXS as an ordinary effect pedal, but I'm not getting there.

I really don't want to abandon the HXS in favor of standalone effects pedals. Can someone wiser than I please talk me through this?

Thanks, 

Phil

Using FX Loop L?

Global Settings Ins/Outs>Send/Return L = Inst?

SEND>1/4"TS cable>BSP IN>BSP Out>1/4"TS cable>Return L?

OR (better)

FX Send L (Dry Thru -120db); FX Return R

Global Settings Ins/Outs>Send/Return L = Inst; Send/Return R = Line

SEND>1/4"TS cable>BSP IN>BSP Out>1/4"TS cable>Return R?

On 4/14/2023 at 8:57 PM, Philbertus said:

I connected the BSP send to the HXS return and the HXS send to the BSP return. I made the BSP FX loop was enabled. I placed a send/return block before the effects in the HXS.

That can't work. The HX send to BSP return connection doesn't do anything in this case.