Jump to content


Photo

Jtv 2.0- Try This,.... Jtv Flash Update, Update 2ed


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 psarkissian

psarkissian

    Line 6 Staff

  • Service Engineer Moderator
  • 1621 posts
  • LocationCalabasas, CA

Posted 20 August 2013 - 09:21 AM

The guitar/DSP person here at Line 6 informs me there is newer info posted and that this PDF that I posted here is now out-of-date, so it will be removed to avoid confusion and redundancy.

 

 

-P.B. Sarkissian


  • 1

#2 snhirsch

snhirsch

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • LocationBurlington, VT USA
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 20 August 2013 - 11:13 AM

So, the net of those instructions is "flash it twice in a row", or am I missing a detail?


  • 0

40 years of Rock-n-Roll and proud of it!

 

PRS Custom 24 (1990)

James Tyler Variax JTV-69(k) w/ Strat Neck

Fender / Roland GC-1 Guitar

Boss GP-10 13-pin Processor

Antares ATG-1 Autotune Pedal

Fender Mustang III.v2 Modeling Amp

 


#3 phil_m

phil_m

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 8658 posts
  • LocationMinneapolis, MN
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 20 August 2013 - 11:19 AM

The big thing is to make sure you choose not to save your presets when doing the update.


  • 0

"It is not our duty to understand the arbitrary, meaningless dictates of machines"

- Don Norman in The Design of Everyday Things


#4 psarkissian

psarkissian

    Line 6 Staff

  • Service Engineer Moderator
  • 1621 posts
  • LocationCalabasas, CA

Posted 20 August 2013 - 12:56 PM

Once updated---

 

Unplug, then plugin to re-initialize the board,....

"Change Device" to refresh the GUI on Monkey,....

"Keep Existing Patches"--- say NO!

"Re-install" v2.00 to re-assure that no update translation errors are in the update.

 

I know the document says v1.90, the document was create in June. Now that v2.00 is out, I'll be updating the update document.

Until then, pretend that the document says v2.00, instead of v1.90 Flash.

 

 

-Partev

 

 


  • 0

#5 stevekc

stevekc

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • LocationSan Luis Obispo, CA USA (central coast)
  • Registered Products:14

Posted 20 August 2013 - 01:30 PM

One additional note -   When applying the HD 2.0 update, be sure the Volume Pot on the Guitar is not set to "Zero" as this forces the Tyler Variax's into Sleep mode.

 

Details here:

http://line6.com/support/docs/DOC-4127

 

http://line6.com/support/docs/DOC-2680

 

 

On a James Tyler Variax guitar, ensure that the Volume knob on the guitar is NOT set to the '0' position as it will put the guitar into Power Save Mode.  Make sure that the Volume knob is set higher than 0 when updating or editing the JTV guitar.


  • 0

#6 tscoolberth

tscoolberth

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 65 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 20 August 2013 - 03:16 PM

Somehow I got this all correct, before even reading this.  Correct me if I am wrong but I think it is a requirement that the guitar is in magnetic pickup mode, i.e. not turned on into variax mode.


  • 0

JTV-89, Ibanez 7421, ESP-LTD Hex-7, Schecter V-1, Legator Helios, Jackson KVXMG,

Laney IRT Studio head, Randall RD45


#7 psarkissian

psarkissian

    Line 6 Staff

  • Service Engineer Moderator
  • 1621 posts
  • LocationCalabasas, CA

Posted 20 August 2013 - 03:50 PM

Yes,... leave it in magnetic mode, and volume down is a good idea (though that's not been in problem in my experience). Do it as added extra insurance that, that aspect of it won't be a problem.

 

But, do not mess with the cables, connections or controls while updating anything.

 

 

-Partev

 


  • 1

#8 psarkissian

psarkissian

    Line 6 Staff

  • Service Engineer Moderator
  • 1621 posts
  • LocationCalabasas, CA

Posted 21 August 2013 - 08:26 AM

The "Spank" on my JTV-69 test fixture sounds fine here at Line 6. There is a certain clarity and spectral consistency between that and the guitars they are Modeled from. No mid-mud in the EQ on certain models. Sounds like my music partner's Strat.

 

Ricki 12-string, acoustic 12-string and the ES-335 all sound very close to the real ones I own (Ricki 370-12, FG-230 acoustic 12, ES-330).

 

Newer version, newer models, newer sound. Sure, it'll sound a little different.

 

 

-Partev


  • 0

#9 snhirsch

snhirsch

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • LocationBurlington, VT USA
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 21 August 2013 - 08:40 AM

The "Spank" on my JTV-69 test fixture sounds fine here at Line 6. There is a certain clarity and spectral consistency between that and the guitars they are Modeled from. No mid-mud in the EQ on certain models. Sounds like my music partner's Strat.

 

Well, I'm glad to hear that.  Haven't wanted to spoil the party given all the talk about "Spank2 and Spank4 not working", but I'm not seeing the issue on my JTV-69.   v2.0 Spank4 is a noticable amount less "nasal" sounding than the 1.9 firmware, but it's definitely not the same as 3 or 5.  Workbench shows the correct things happening and cycling the pickup off/on per the video is making no difference that I can hear, suggesting this may not be a universal problem (I can definitely hear a difference in the video).


  • 0

40 years of Rock-n-Roll and proud of it!

 

PRS Custom 24 (1990)

James Tyler Variax JTV-69(k) w/ Strat Neck

Fender / Roland GC-1 Guitar

Boss GP-10 13-pin Processor

Antares ATG-1 Autotune Pedal

Fender Mustang III.v2 Modeling Amp

 


#10 Javadog2008

Javadog2008

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 21 August 2013 - 09:48 AM

Good morning all. My experience so far. JTV69 Korea, I moved to 2.0 from 1.9 last Saturday and noticed the spank 2 and 4 issues that are much talked about here so this morning I decided to reflash.

 

Since 2.0 was already installed I just did the reinstall from latest. At the second reinitializing prompt the interface on the guitar side turned red and I got the unpsecified MIDI error. Not panicking yet, I unplugged the guitar and tried again with the same result. Slight panick but... reflashed to 1.82. This one worked. So try going to 2.0 again and success. Went ahead and reflashed one more time as instructed and a second succesful update.

 

The quack is back, though not as pronounced. At least in the 4 position. Fire up work bench, spank bank position 4 shows neck and middle pickups engaged but position 2 only shows the middle. Engage the bridge, sounds good, upload to variax, slight difference, download from variax, bridge pickup is not engaged.

 

I have opened a ticket.


  • 0

#11 offashead

offashead

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 21 August 2013 - 10:42 AM

I have the JT 69, I bought it new a couple of weeks ago, I then bought a xt but quickly went to the Pod HD. I like what I am hearing.

I am running 1.9 as that's what it came loaded with but I am hesitant to go to 2.00. I like the Strat 2 position, it sounds like a Strat, so I'm on the fence about this till there is more news. Whole new world for me. Oh and hi folks. I have been a member since 2009, I bought a spider combo and got rid fast, but this new stuff is something very different and I am still finding my way around. Cheers.


  • 0