Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Replicating FOH sounds at home

DoeWoe

I've been reading through some of the threads where people are looking for FRFR speakers and such and haven't come across one that quite hits on my question.  I'm running my HD500x straight to the mixer with an XLR and I don't always have the time to go build the patches at the church.  I'm looking for a way to be able to build patches at home that will sound the same once I get to church.  I just purchased a JBL EON612 and it was kind of close, but I think the unit was defective.  I have to send it back and was wondering if I should just replace it or if there are better options.  Keep in mind that the use of the speaker is secondary and would really love for it to be in the $200-$400 range.  I'm still new to Line 6 and would appreciate any opinions you guys might have.  

You're on the right track by having a decent PA speaker to use at home. The most important thing for me when building my live patches is that I'm doing it at a volume comparable to what I will use live, which for me is SUPER F-IN LOUD! haha. Stuff that sounds full and crisp at talking volume will be muddy and harsh at performance levels. I've heard of some guys that use and EQ with the treble and bass boosted at the end of the chain when building patches at headphone/home listening levels and then removing the EQ for live use as a sort of reverse-fletcher-munson-curve type, approach, but I wouldn't trust it myself.

• Upvote 1

The truth is --- 

You will never find one system that sounds the same as another system. Every system is different. Especially when you are talking about going from a PA to a small home speaker.

And then, when dealing with churches --- 

1. It is a big empty hall that echoes and has rather large glass windows. That will change the sound as to if that same system was put in a dirty smoky bar.