Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Newb needing help with a bit of terminology

Geolondon

Hi All, 

I considering the purchase of the Helix and I'm completely new to amp modeling, etc.  I keep seeing terms like "IR", "patches", and other terminology used in reference to these devices.  Can someone help me understand these, and whatever other terminology I'm likely to encounter, in conceptual terms? 

I'm also researching a couple other devices, for example the Kemper system.  Was it the case that when the Helix initially came out, the stock tones were not on the level of the Kemper but that over time Helix has closed the gap (if there ever was one in the first place)?   I ask this because I visited a Kemper forum and had seemed to see more and more converts to Helix in terms of general attitude in the posts towards the device over the past year or so.   So I'm wondering that as people have dialed in various tones on their Helixes via "tweaking" that perhaps things have improved over time?   And then, of course, I've seen a number of Youtube videos where the Fractal, Kemper, and the Helix are compared and honestly I have a hard time telling the difference between any of them and that it boils down (to me, anyway) the interface of which Helix has the best (again, in my opinion).  

So if anyone can address or help me out with the above points, I'd greatly appreciated it.   Thanks again. 

Regards, 

Geo

IR = Impulse Response

Without getting too technical or more confusing, think of an IR as an acoustic photograph of a speaker cabinet, in which the characteristics of that cabinet are captured and stored in a digital format, such as a .wav file.

Helix comes with a bunch of speaker cabinets that compliment each amp head.  However there are 3rd party IRs that seemingly do a better job and sound better than the stock cabs.  So are the stock cabs useless?  Not at all.