Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

How to connect guitar and mic for vocals?

garbanzo

I hope that I expose my level of knowledge with my question, if not, I am a beginner. I have however come to the stage of wanting to learn this feature. How do I connect both guitar and mic? In extension  I wish to be able to record both the guitar and vocal on separate channels in Reaper. Today I connected both guitar and microphone with input in Helix on Multi, I got a read out for guitar in my DAW. I then changed Helix "input"  to Mic from Multi resulting in no sound for either mic or guitar. Upon changing input back to Multi I still had no sound, this I finally resolved by restarting Helix with input on Multi and got my guitar sound back. I have not found a section in the manual, nor any videos on the subject. How do I set this up?

Any and all explicit help is much appreciated

Thanks

garbanzo

Connect your guitar to the Helix Guitar input and your mic to the mic input. Create a dual path preset in Helix. Select the Input block on one path and set it to guitar. Set the input on the other path to mic. When adding blocks and FX to your paths keep the paths completely separate. For just playing set the Output block in both paths to Multi. For recording set the Output block in one path to USB 1/2 and the other to USB 3/4.

In Global Settings -> Ins/Outs adjust the Mic input gain until you get a strong enough signal level without clipping.

Connect Helix via USB to your computer and launch Reaper. If it does not automatically start using Reaper and its ASIO driver as the audio interface do so manually. (Note: you need to have the Line 6 Helix driver installed.)

Create 2 stereo audio tracks in Reaper and arm them for recording. Select USB 1/2 as the input source for one track and USB 3/4 for the other. Check your signal levels (back to the Helix mic input gain?) and start recording.