Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Helix Floor, Rack, Stomp, Pod Go, Quad Cortex ... need some advice / input with buying decision

schildkroete

Hello,

I am completely new to modelers and to this forum, and I am looking for some advice for a buying decision...

I recently got myself a nice Strat, after not having played an electric guitar at all for almost 30 years, just classical acoustic most of the time.

I have not yet decided on any amp solution though, because I was slightly overwhelmed of the complexity of that decision. Soundwise, I thought I'd be very happy with a Fender Deluxe Reverb, with some nice effect pedals to choose from. But after some testing, I found that the Deluxe would be way too loud for me playing mostly alone and at home, mostly in bedroom volume levels because of the neighbors.

After lots of reading, watching youtube and some testing I have come to the decision that a modeler like the Helix is probably exactly what I would need at the moment.

At the moment, I am considering the following options:

- Helix Floor
- Helix Rack + Control
- Helix Stomp
- Pod Go
- Neural DSP Quad Cortex
- Something completely different that I don't yet know or haven't thought about?

I am not really in a hurry with the decision. But I don't know if I really can wait until the Cortex (and good reviews, hopefully) come out in November either... I really, really like that the Cortex will be a lot smaller than the Helix, with a lot more power and maybe even better sound, and with better usability due to the touchscreen, more functionality, and all that for the same price. I am somewhat hesitant with buying into the Helix because it's already 5 years old, and a guy in a shop told me that he's expecting an upgrade ("Helix 2"?) soon (probably in 2020). Another thing I think I won't like with the Helix floor is that it's so huge and that the pedal is integrated, I'd rather have that as a seperate option.