Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Bulk replacement of IR blocks with a Cab block for device resale?

johnbeamon

A very specific question. I may be selling a Floor, and I wouldn't mind leaving my presets. I consider myself a bit of a power user, and I have a catalog of genre and artist and song match presets that I think could be useful to pass along. In the effort to NOT resell commercial impulse responses... because that's a thing... is there a way to bulk replace the IR blocks on either presets or setlists with a predefined Cab block? In a gesture of self-awareness, I will accept the answer "nobody cares, erase your presets" if you really think this is a waste of time. But I think it's an interesting question.

I know presets are JSON files. I'm an IT professional, and I can do search and replace with some command line UNIX tools. It wouldn't be trivial, but it ought to be possible. I know setlists are BASE64 encoded blobs. I'm not sure that's possible at all without multiple re-encoding steps. I know this is actually complicated by the 2.9 (?) change to load IR presets by name instead of number, because I can no longer replace all the slots with a free internet download and just expect them to load. Once upon a time, my preset would load whatever was in IR slot 5; but no longer. That would've been easy.

Do you plan on using the same cabinet for all presets? 

If so, just replace the IR with the cabinet on one preset.... then save that cab block as a favorite once you fine tune it to your liking. 

Next - go into each preset and replace the IR block with that "favorite" cab block. Yes it's tedious, but it won't take that much time. 

On 8/24/2022 at 12:01 PM, PaulTBaker said:

a python script could walk through the file and replace/remove the JSON values

IIRC... only individual preset backups are written in json... not the setlists or the full backups.