Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Need help with shania Twain tone

Levenso

Hi, I'm new with Helix. It's a good thing to have lots of amps and pedals, but I get lost with all the possibilities...

I'm part of a Shania Twain tribute band and trying to replicate some of her guitar tones. If any experienced player could direct me in the rght direction for a distorsion tone for "Man! feel like a woman", I'd greatly appreciate! I play that song with a Gibson Les Paul Classic.

Thanks!

On 6/3/2023 at 8:46 PM, Levenso said:

Hi, I'm new with Helix. It's a good thing to have lots of amps and pedals, but I get lost with all the possibilities...

I'm part of a Shania Twain tribute band and trying to replicate some of her guitar tones. If any experienced player could direct me in the rght direction for a distorsion tone for "Man! feel like a woman", I'd greatly appreciate! I play that song with a Gibson Les Paul Classic.

Thanks!

Cory Churko is Shania's musical director / Lead guitar player.... he's also a Line 6 Helix user. He is very approachable if you reach out via facebook messenger with a question. He does use a Kemper for his amp profiles, the Helix is his effects and controller - however I'm 99.9% certain he knows how to dial it in solely on a Helix as well. 

Cory wasn't the player on that album... that would have been a combo of a dozen session men, and Mutt Lang himself - but Cory is meticulous at matching tones. He's also toured with Shania since her initial tours in the 90's... he knows those sounds inside out.  

Edit to add: Check out You Tube for his live cam footage of that song from Vegas and his incredible mind spinning solo that starts around 5:20...

• Like 2
  • Upvote 1

Hey Levenso!