Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Back at it again DT25 vs DT50

thomaswhudson

Ok so basically i think i have decided to not pick up a DT50 even though i have found a few used ones for really good prices. The weight of the thing is basically whats making me shy away. I am not a pro and i will probably not make much money if any playing around. 

So with that being said i am thinking that the DT25 combo and a ext cab should be enough for practice, playing at home, and small venues. Thoughts?

Also i should not even consider an Amplifi right? 

DT25 would be plenty enough for small venues. I use a DT25 combo any small and even used it at some outside venues with not problem. It really is much louder than I would expect. 

Althought the Combo wieghts in @ 50lb. It ain't a light weight. 

Should you consider Amplifi? I dunno depends on what you want and like out of an Amp. For home practice Amplifi unit is probably pretty nice, that is what it was targeted for. Plus it has likely way more models build into it than the DT alone does.  However; you add a HD500(x) with it and you have more than the Amplifi does and HD models too, The the Amplifi is the X3 models. So which fits you better? Depends on what you want. Both could likely fit you needs. The DT is going to sound better, but the Amplifi could likely works and might be better in the home practice area. Plus there is pretty big differences in the prices of each.

For me the DT25 is alread plenty heavy. In retrospect I should have bought a separate amp and cab, but if you think already about having a cab of move, a combo may be a better choice so you drag one less piece around.