Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

New PODhead!

AlexKenivel

(Sorry if the thread title isn't kosher)

So I'm pretty new at this, about a month ago I got my first POD (hd500x).

I wasnt sure how things we're going to go, I really wanted to get an axe fx but could not justify the price point. I had done a lot of reading, watched a lot of videos and heard a lot of stories and mixed reviews, but what seemed to be the most abundant were problematic situations and frustrated customers. this had me a little worried, but I knew that if I were to be patient I could probably get by quite well with this device.

I've got to say, I've been having a great experience and I've run into no real problems besides a couple glitches here and there, and I'm getting a taste of the little shortcomings that are commonly talked about like the lack of Hz labeling in EQs, fizziness, awkward factory settings, dsp limits, I was even a little miffed after I found out the banking and presets didn't work quite like I had imagined or hoped they did.

Maybe it's just me, but instead of worrying about things, I adapted and learned very quickly and after an hour of tweaking i had pretty good hi gain, crunch and clean presets. soon I was making ambient synths and making set lists for my bands songs. I used my Pod with my bass players old Behringer powered mixer and horrible Squire PA speakers at our band practice and was blown away about how things sound. Sure it wasn't perfect, but I had been 2 weeks into tweaking and had a great first sound.

then it was time to refine that sound, and to make a long story short its been a small challenge and a whole lot of fun and things just seem to get better and better.

.. and I see all these "not happy with my pod threads" and I just sit there and I shake my head.

/rant

-Satisfied Customer

• Upvote 4