Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

How to maximize the inherent sound of your guitar in a Helix preset?

DrMetal

Hi,, (I'm new to the Helix family, just bought an LT). 

I was messing around with a Helix preset that I created (heavy gain, heavy distortion).   I was trying to compare the sounds of my Fender Strat vs. my Gibson LP Standard.  In this particular preset that I have, both guitars sound exactly the same (you can't tell them apart).   Now, this is probably my own doing, in that the preset is very heavy gain, heavy distortion, that probably bleeds out the unique sound of the guitar (Strat vs Gibson LP). 

So I was wondering:  what are (in general) the best settings to maximize the unique sound of your guitar?  (solid body LP, vs Strat, etc etc).  

I think you answered your own question. The more FX you apply (especially heavy gain/distortion) the more the FX outweigh the natural guitar signal. The inverse of that is also true: the less/fewer FX you apply the more the natural guitar signal is heard.

The best sound of the guitar is it's natural sound, and they're all different.  Probably the best way to understand it is to use a simple clean preset and play the guitars through it.  THAT is the natural sound of the guitar, and I prefer to maximize the sound of a guitar by choosing the right guitar for the sound I'm going for in the preset.