Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

HX Stomp FRFR

gitapik

I'm a first time modeler, getting the hang of the HX Stomp.

Been using headphones so far, both for practice and recording. I also play factory and self made FX presets through my various amps. They're impressive; but I'm starting to think it would be nice to have a small FRFR that will accurately put out the amp/cab DIR patches, which are really nice. Something for home, jams, and small club gigs. 

I'm looking at the Line 6 Powercab 112 and the Headrush FRFR 108. The 12" speaker on the Powercab is a plus vs the 8" of the Headrush...but I don't know how big a difference that makes; as I've not used an FRFR, before. The Headrush is smaller and lighter. And then there's the difference in price...

I know the Powercab offers more features but I'm not sure I'd use them. My reason for buying an FRFR is to get the amps/cabs that I've set up on the Stomp through a portable amp. Not so sure that I need more added through an FRFR...unless I'm missing something.

Thanks for your time.

OK - I'm not a Powercab user - maybe the experience is somehow super special...........

But for the money, you'd have to consider 2x FRFR108s in stereo.

I run a stereo rig, and I'm hooked!

I don't use the 108s, but I've been thinking about auditioning them as it's such a compact rig.

• Upvote 1

I can't provide a comparison between the units mentioned. I use 2xPC+ for full end-to-end integration, and like the sound. I have preiously used wedges which my band, and I, found a bit to 'clinical' or hi-fi. FRFR is a marketing term describing a class of product, it will not tell you how they sound and they all colour the sound in some way.

• Upvote 1

Well here's a twist: