Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Is the helix any good for bass guitar

Stevie573

Hi all,

I am wondering if someone can help me out, I am currently using a mixture of zoom b3, roland v bass and gr-55 but I have been so impressed with what I have seen of the helix for guitarists I am wondering if its worth investing as a bass player or are the bass aspects just a token gesture.

I can't seem to find much information for the bass elements of the helix and I haven't had the time yet to find somewhere to demo the unit or finances to take the plunge.

Thanks in advance

Steve

I've read nothing but positive comments about using Helix for bass.  I know that the band Garbage are using it for bass and guitars.  I'm a novice bass player but I've tried it and it sounds stellar to me through my PA speakers.  

I think it's great for bass. I've recorded a number of songs where I've used the Helix for bass, and I've been happy with the results. I've also let one of my good friends who's a bass player play through it, and he loved it.

Helix works great for bass (live or recording).

I particularly like the Cali 400 Ch1 model.

Helix provides flexible signal routing, so you can tailor the EFX for bass.

ie:  Put an effect on a separate path... and using high-pass filters to keep it from affecting the low end.