Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Helix in Action... Robin Trower content

Rocco_Crocco

I am really a newb regarding recording software. I bought Studio One last year but never even really got around to trying it until tonight. I surprised myself at how quickly I was able to put this together. It took less than two hours. 

I have been on Robin Trower kick for like 6 months, so I decided to record "Day of the Eagle". I got the backing track from YouTube (user Guitar Jam Tracks).

All guitars are me, the backing track is just bass and drums. I didn't play the slower ending part, because this was an exercise in using the recording software. I didn't want to spend too much time trying to nail the end.

Guitar

Line 6 JTV89F Variax on Spank (Strat) setting.

Modeler

Line 6 Helix with Glenn DuLaune's Robin Trower preset. I replaced his cab block with a 3 Sigma 1960v 3b IR.

• Upvote 3

One of the sounds I have been trying to get for years is Bridge Of Sighs. Some of the gear I've used is a Sans Amp, GSP2101 and every incarnation of the Line 6 Pods. Never got all that close...until now. It still needs some tweaking but wow. I love my Helix.

Any chance you could post your bridge of sighs preset on custom tone?

Hi JimiRox,

Just for the hell of it, here's a starting point for you to get a Robin Trower style tone - I did this a the basis for jamming along to "Into Dust" from the "Go My Way" album of 2000.

http://line6.com/customtone/tone/2031305/

It was put together quite quickly but it should get you in the ball park to start experimenting and refine the thing to suit your set up. I use it with my Variax set on Spank - obviously.

Oh, yeah I included a Eb semitone drop and a pseudo "WhaFull" cocked wha effect on a foot switch for those that want that simple trick.

Any chance you could post your bridge of sighs preset on custom tone?