Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Helix LT: strange automatic updating

NicoA47

I'm quite new to the Helix LT, but I used it a couple of times for band rehearsals. Since today, when I plug it in (no cables attached other than the power supply), I only see the starting screen, in the top line a strange string of ":-7:-7:-7:-7:-7:-7" (which goes on and on, in red color), and the bottom two lines say:

"Firmware Version 2.12.2

Updating UI MCU Firmware, please wait. Do not power off the unit!"

What can I do about this?

Try holding down footswitches 6 and 12(the two on the right next to the expression pedal) while powering the unit on. This will put the unit into update mode.

You may also need to try a different USB cable and possibly a different port on the computer. It may be a good idea to open a ticket with Line 6 as well.

• 2 months later...

Thank your for the reply. In the following guide I get stuck again:

http://line6.com/support/page/kb/_/effects-controllers/helix/how-to-update-the-helixs-firmware-r776

I installed the updater and driver, but when I connect the Helix LT via USB to my laptop, it does not get recognized and the old screen shows up:

I think you need to follow these instructions for upgrading to the current firmware and editor.  It appears you're following old directions for prior updates.

http://line6.com/support/topic/18284-latest-helix-firmware-230%E2%80%94nov-21-2017/

I just went through a similar issue with an LT... it turned to to be a driver issue.  Had not "activated" the downloaded driver on my Mac. Once the driver is downloaded, on a Mac, you have to go into the Privacy and Security settings and "acknowledge" that the driver is acceptable, and a restart required after you "acknowledge".  

I don't think it's a driver issue. I did update to version 2.30 for a month and this error appear only now. I don't connect it to Mac, only to windows 10 computer.