Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

When will we see new models and firmware for helix??

MarkJarvis

When will we see new models and firmware for helix??...

Its been way too quiet..are we at the end of the line for new models?

The Helix team's energy has been focused on Native, in case you missed it...  :)

Not at the end of updates by any means. New stuff coming relatively soon.

• Upvote 1

I've said this here before. The last update didn't hold much interest for me.  Even though I'm also a bassist, I've never used my Helix for bass. That and the nerve wracking process of updating makes me think twice before doing it.  I'm very very happy with the sounds I get now and do not look forward to anymore tweaking. The update has to offer up some very intriguing new capabilities before I'm gonna do it. I am more than content with the current collection of amp models so if it's just going to be more of those, I'm staying put.  

The Helix's consistency is what allows me to just concentrate on playing. I think that sometimes an update tends to jeopardize that consistency.

For me personally, I hear AXFX and Kemper models and wonder home come we dont have as much selection...

Consider how much longer Fractal (AxFX) and Kemper have been around compared to the Helix and you might stop wondering.

• Upvote 2

The Helix's consistency is allows me to just concentrate on playing. I think that sometimes an update tends to jeopardize that consistency.

This is really important to us. There are a lot of features we just won't do—or at least won't do in the way people expect—because it'd mess with existing workflows and force people to program around it. For example, even though Snapshots are an incredibly deep and powerful feature, aside from a new camera icon on the screen and a couple of global parameters, you'd never know they were there. Almost everything is hidden behind shortcuts.

• Upvote 2